About Getting Older

Reffi Dhinar
Light Mind
Published in
3 min readOct 22, 2020

Age is just number, I believe that

Unsplash (@kmitchhodge)

We become older every year and we cannot avoid the process. Cosmetic company make many products to delay the aging process. We assume that the wrinkles, white hair and losing our ideal weight are the worst thing that we should face.

I think about it too, especially when I was 20 years old.

The period looks long but in reality, time walks fast. Day by day, I put my bottom in my office’s chair, writing my books, travelling, and January passed. September comes, and my birthday is going closer. There are some new year resolutions which I can achieve but there are failures too. Looking at it, I try to minimalize my regret. In the end, I ask myself.

“Should I afford too hard just because I’m afraid to lose my time?”
“Is this the right way to enjoy my life?”

Time Walks Fast

Suddenly we arrive in the middle of twenty, we prepare our life, marriage, and finishing our education before joining the societies circle. Slowly, we ignore the age and getting busy to reach our wildest dream. When we arrive in the 30’s zone, our mind becomes surprised, and the old life comes to our eyes nearly.

In my opinion, becoming older should be followed by the growth of wisdom, keep humble, smarter and try to decrease our selfishness. Fulfil our 20–30’s age with hardworking, loving our passion, and love ourselves deeply. Reading books, listening to music, gathering with your boy/girlfriend, family and friends, travelling or visiting the workshop to maintain your capability is the best way to grow our maturity.

Well everyone has a different kind of happiness. Maybe you will be happy just as a stay at home mom, maybe you feel worthy to work in a company. Running your small business can give you joy. Working as a freelancer perhaps giving you real-life, even you still rent a house.

The So-Called Society Norm

I met a 60-years-old grandma who was joining a coding class that I followed too. She was so curious and enjoying her learning journey. There is no limit to be happy or pursuing something new. Age is a just number, I believe it.

Society norm like ‘we should marry in this age, we should buy a house when we are in the early 30, we should get a high-paid job after graduation, and so many things that they call it as a life standard’ sometimes become the anxiety triggers. We compare ourselves with others. Our small achievement looks ugly in our eyes. How can we be happy if we are busy hating ourselves?

Getting old is natural, but make our soul and mind younger aren’t impossible. We can create our opportunity every year. Older but wiser, older but younger in the soul. Don’t forget to smile :)

--

--