My Journey with Self-Doubt:

Lessons and strategies learned for overcoming.

Golam Rob
Light of Pen
3 min readSep 4, 2024

--

Self-Doubt : image by Canva

Remember this: For a while, I struggled with my self-doubt, and it has been quite a journey. I am always trying to improve and be wise, and I have had to face my fears and limitations. Right now, as I sit down to write, I am feeling a mix of anxiety, self-doubt, and hope.

I am striving to stand out in a competitive professional environment. I have always been motivated to do well, but recently, I have been doubting myself and second-guessing my choices. It feels like I am trapped in a never-ending cycle of uncertainty, and it is overwhelming.

The following text serves as a helpful reminder: “As I reflect on my experiences, I’ve come to understand that I’m not the only one grappling with self-doubt, and it’s perfectly acceptable to acknowledge it. Here are some valuable lessons and effective strategies that have guided me in managing self-doubt:

Recognize your fears: Acknowledge that the fears and doubts you experience are valid. Avoid trying to suppress or ignore them. Instead, take the time to comprehend their origins and the specific challenges they present.”

Frame negative thoughts: Challenge negative self-talk with positive affirmations. For example, replace “I’m not good enough” with “I can learn.”

Please focus on the present: Break down your goal into small, manageable tasks and take it one step at a time.

Practice self-compassion: Treat yourself with responsibility and empathy like a close friend. Be gentle with yourself and make it okay to make mistakes.

Surround yourself with supportive people, and do not hesitate to ask for help when needed.

Remember: Celebrate small victories to build confidence and momentum.

Prioritize your physical and mental well-being. Be available for activities that bring you joy and relaxation, such as exercise, meditation, or hobbies.

Learn to forgive yourself: You are only human, so it is okay to make mistakes. Practice self-forgiveness and let go of guilt and shame.

Reflecting on my journey, I have realized that overcoming self-doubt is an ongoing process that requires time, effort, and patience. It is a challenging but rewarding endeavor. My goal is to share my story to support others who may be grappling with similar feelings.

Remember, you are not alone, and seeking help is perfectly acceptable. Even the most minor step forward is progress. Always remember to be kind to yourself; you are doing your best, which is something to take pride in.

Please be aware that I am not a mental health professional, and the information I have shared is not a replacement for professional advice, diagnosis, or treatment. These are my reflections and strategies that have proven effective for me. If you are coping with self-doubt or other mental health challenges, it is essential to reach out to a qualified healthcare professional or mental health provider for assistance.

--

--

Golam Rob
Light of Pen

As a Civil Engineer with a Project Management Professional (PMP®), I am passionate about reading and writing, and I enjoy combining my love for math and music.