Meet Keelin, our Child Friendly Space Manager!

Keelin, CFS Manager, shares her experiences working with LHR in Ritsona Refugee Camp for over two years.

Lighthouse Relief
Notes from the Lighthouse
5 min readDec 16, 2020

--

Photo by Edward Grattan

What is your title?

I am the Child Friendly Space Manager for Lighthouse Relief in Ritsona Camp!

Where are you from?

Australia! Sydney specifically

How long have you been with Lighthouse Relief?

Since April 2018 so just over 2.5 years

Photos by Julie Flavin and Marie-Hélène Rousseau

What did you do before you joined LHR?

At the end of 2017 I had just finished my Masters of Human Rights, and I was working and volunteering with asylum seekers and refugees in Australia through various drop-in centres, and supporting projects and initiatives targeted towards inclusive education for children with a disability. Before I came to Greece I also collaborated with the Refugee Council of Australia to produce a report outlining policy recommendations for the Australian government on how to reduce barriers for asylum seekers and refugees access to the national disability services in Australia.

Photo by Nick Powell

What made you want to work with LHR?

I was aware of the situation in Greece, and I was aware of the patterns of forced migration from Syria and other countries impacted by war and felt if I could contribute, Greece was somewhere that I could provide some support. I did a lot of reading and research on grass roots and NGO initiatives in the Mediterranean, and I found that my values strongly aligned with Lighthouse Relief.

The concept of a “Child Friendly Space” is something that I was immediately drawn to as it is a space where children can feel safe and comfortable to develop in an environment that a child should not be exposed to. I initially came to LHR as a volunteer and had committed to four months, yet I was fortunate to be promoted into my position after time, and I continue to extend my time working in Ritsona.

What has been your favourite memory/standout moment at LHR so far?

It’s the every day interactions that I have with the children, [who visit the space] whether it is about their interests, thoughts, concerns, or needs for that moment in time. Their unique personalities. The conversations and interactions that we hold, whether verbally or with simple expressions, and the experiences that we have as individuals or as part of a group have been incredible and heartbreaking at the same time. The children and their families that I have grown to know and understand are resilient and kind beyond what anyone could comprehend and expect, if they themselves were put in the same situation. The children I have grown to know are incredibly strong and I deeply admire them.

The children and their families that I have grown to know and understand are resilient and kind beyond what anyone could comprehend and expect, if they themselves were put in the same situation. The children I have grown to know are incredibly strong and I deeply admire them.

When parents in Ritsona have asked me where I am from, and I respond “Australia”, a number of times some parents have responded by offering to welcome me in to their home, and in to their family, because they are aware of the distance. This is something that will always remain with me. The kindness that I encounter every day.

What does a typical day at LHR look like for you?

2020 has not been a typical year for anyone around the world, but we as CFS have pushed to retain a sense of normalcy in a time marked by increased uncertainty and anxiety, more so for asylum seekers and refugees.

We start the the day with cleaning and preparing the activities for the day, and then we proceed to run 2 sessions with early childhood focused groups with the support of our wonderful support from the Resident Volunteers who we could not run the space without. Our day includes various forms of play, storytelling, creating, using our imagination, building, forming connections with others, and taking a moment to breathe and reflect with our emotional regulation sessions.

What do you most love about your job?

The children and the community — the level of kindness and generosity, patience and resilience, is something that I have never encountered before. There are many individuals in Ritsona that contribute to making the CFS / LHR programs what they are today.

Photo by Nick Powell

What do you wish people knew about the situation in Greece?

I wish for people to stay informed, to make an effort to understand, and to contribute in some shape or form to either put pressure on changing the circumstances — either locally, nationally or globally — for asylum seekers and refugees. I wish for people to reflect and have a level of compassion and awareness, so that they are able and willing to have an impact on something that might not personally affect them, but impacts millions of people around the world.

Is there anything else you want people to know about you?

I have had the privilege and honour to work with children that I know will move on to be forces for change, and I will always support them.

This month, you can support our Child Friendly Space by buying a gift certificate for a loved one, or by making a donation to our GlobalGiving Campaign! More information here: https://www.lighthouserelief.org/

--

--

Lighthouse Relief
Notes from the Lighthouse

We provide relief to refugees struggling with homelessness in Athens and long-term support to vulnerable groups in Ritsona Refugee Camp on mainland Greece.