Borrowed Personalities

Pooja Ramakrishnan
lightness
3 min readJan 16, 2022

--

I wore someone else’s personality for a day.

It felt cool and new; I felt alive.

And then it began to prickle.

At first just a little -

an itch I could rub away and

then it came back with aggression

till I felt like I was in wool;

too warm, too scratched, and uncomfortable in every way.

This was hardly the first personality I’ve borrowed.

I’ve tried on the ones with the little tassels,

the ones that leave little to the imagination,

the stuffing inside legends,

even a pillowcase or two.

Sometimes, I wore them for an hour,

sometimes it would be decades.

Some fit snugly

and I forgot they were not mine

till I caught a nail and it tore right through.

Others were loose,

unbalanced,

and a sore sight.

I tossed many out the window,

hid others under my bed,

and occasionally retrofitted a couple after visiting a party or ten.

Sometimes, I kept a separate one for work

and for leisure.

Other times,

I insisted on swapping them

just for the flair.

Under my blanket,

you’ll find three

dressed-down -

one for sickness,

another for well rested-ness,

and yet another up late reading a book.

I have in my pantry a chef’s personality

that I’ve never worn

but instead,

a maid’s apron that needs mending.

The best personalities

I find

are the ones you find at thrift stores

or handmade by a grandparent’s

exuberant faith in your talents.

Either these personalities are preloved

and ready to be restored

or they are a patchwork

made from your many dalliances with life.

These personalities have no brands -

they are custom,

perhaps sloppy,

but every thread is solely yours.

It sews not just the shiny sequences

of your life

but also the morbid and the moldy.

It allows for mercy

but does not self-pity.

If it is a really good one,

a really good one I mean,

it is buffeted by kindness

and considers growth.

Mistakes are inevitable.

It stitches on an extra 2 inches

for when you may finally

no longer want to erase yourself

and spares three buttons

for your careless adventures.

Most personalities are made to measure -

they don’t change with the seasons

unlike the ones in store windows by the road.

They’re meant for long-loving,

worldly endeavors,

and iridescent patterns.

They never look the same year after year

but remember,

what makes them

remain unchanged.

I’ve borrowed enough personalities

to know that they come in all shapes

and all disguises,

they’ll stay longer than they’re welcome and

they’re occasionally hard to undo

especially if the zipper or the buckle

is well-hidden.

But when they do,

resist getting into another one

immediately.

All in all,

only wear a personality

if you must,

discard them if they prevent you

from being open, honest, and available -

in the best sense of those words.

For borrowed personalities

may come in discount deals,

and at 1$ dollar stores

but never forget,

you are yours to keep.

--

--