Easiest Bitcoin Lightning Guide!

Pierre Rochard
Lightning Power Users
2 min readNov 26, 2018

Windows and macOS desktop app, no hardware!

I wanted to write a guide about how to set up Bitcoin Lightning on macOS or Windows desktop or laptop.

If you get stuck at any point in this guide (or after!) please contact me https://github.com/lightning-power-users/node-launcher/issues/new so that I can help you out.

If any of this is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve it!

This setup process will get easier and easier as each step gets automated one way or another. I’ll keep this guide updated as things change.

Minimum Requirements

  1. Any Windows, macOS, or Linux computer
  2. 10 GB of disk space available
  3. Bandwidth to download 375 GB of data

Warnings

Bitcoin is an experiment.

Lightning is an experiment.

Please understand that you may have a permanent loss of value from experimenting with these systems. This is risky business!

Please backup your computer’s data and minimize the amount of value you put in!

Lightning Power Node Launcher

Download the latest release of the Lightning Power Node Launcher: https://github.com/PierreRochard/node-launcher/releases

Open the Node Launcher, a Bitcoin icon will appear in your system tray (top right on macOS, in your taskbar on Windows).

The icon will have a red dot while the nodes are starting, a blue dot while they are syncing, and a green dot when they are ready.

Let your node sync (both Bitcoin and LND at the same time), this could take a long time if you have a slow internet connection!

Wait for LND to finish catching up.

When it is synced you’ll see the green dot!

Now go set up Joule! 👇

If you got stuck at any point in this guide (or after!) please contact me https://github.com/lightning-power-users/node-launcher/issues/new so that I can help you out.

If any of this is not clear, please let me know so that I can improve it!

--

--