Lightspeed Scout Spotlight: Tina Fitch

Mercedes Bent
Lightspeed Venture Partners
5 min readSep 2, 2021

I caught up with Lightspeed Scout Tina Fitch about her journey to VC and advice for aspiring investors. This is a continuation of Lightspeed’s “Scout Spotlight” series showcasing our amazing Scouts, what they care about, and some lessons learned along the path to venture.

Me: Let’s start with who you are! What’s your story?

Tina: I’m from Hawai’i. I’ve lived throughout Asia, Australia, London, and the continental U.S. along the way, but Hawai’i is always “home.” It is a place of deep and diverse cultural pride and connection with the land and sea; where people care more about your personal character and authenticity than the size of your home or your bank account. I grew up picking pohole fern in the forest with my grandmother for dinner and spearfishing papio (trevally) to steam on the grill. Even today, my kids and I gather ‘ulu (breadfruit) leaves, flowers, and vines to make lei, and dance hula together. We have a sustainable farm on the North Shore of Maui, raising livestock compassionately on pasture to re-introduce healthy and antibiotic-free food for the community. I’m equally at home putting in fence posts or helping birth a pig as creating financial models and designing in Figma! Integrating an agrarian lifestyle with my work in technology keeps me grounded yet creative, and affords me a broad lens through which to view the world.

I was fortunate to work for preeminent economists at U.C. Berkeley as an undergrad, and thus got stints at economic think tanks in South Korea and Europe before I was 20. I graduated from college at that age and lived in China doing economic research and analysis for major NGOs. But I became disenchanted with the pace of change and bureaucracy in those roles — I have always wanted to have positive impact and contributions in the world, but decided to do so independently while I satisfied my need to build and create in the private sector. I ended up being a founder in three successive startups, all in very different spaces: physical hospitality assets and operating companies across Asia and Europe, an enterprise SaaS for the travel and financial services industries, and a consumer app. Even after acquisitions, these products and services all continue today, employing and serving many millions of people around the world, and that is something I am grateful for.

In Hawai’i, it is ingrained from childhood that we have kuleana (“responsibility”) to contribute back to the community. There’s never a time I’m not striving to create more economic and educational opportunities for Native Hawaiians and under-resourced local youth. Behind the veil of paradise, there is huge income disparity, low career mobility, and reliance on environmentally impactful and unsustainable industries in Hawai’i. Yet, there’s such a wealth of creative talent here. So I’ve supported the first product accelerators and non-profit venture studio in the State, and entrepreneurship programs and internships at schools for Native Hawaiians. Seeing a shift from simply a consumer mindset to a creator mindset in kids who never thought it a possibility is the greatest reward.

Me: What led you to become a Lightspeed Scout?

Tina: I’d always considered myself firmly in the founder camp — I love making ideas a reality! But as I gained more experience, I really enjoyed applying that knowledge to help other founders, or aspiring founders, with anything I could — whether that was connections, roll-up-your-sleeves product assistance, an empathetic and trustworthy shoulder to lean on, or capital. And investing in other founders really helps you scale that ability to see things you’re interested in grow and define the future. But I’d been doing that on my own until you reached out. I’ve so enjoyed the experience of working with Lightspeed. I’ve worked with some great investment partners over the years, but seeing the decision-making process at such a venerated fund, and Lightspeed’s ongoing collaboration with founders and their companies has been enlightening and given me appreciation for both sides of the VC relationship.

It’s been evident that the Lightspeed partnership values diverse perspectives. The genuine and generous feedback and support from you and Jeremy, as well as Nicole and all the other partners involved, has been phenomenal.

Me: What’s your investment focus? Any companies / new investments you want to highlight for readers?

Tina: I like early stage marketplaces that take a high frequency but cumbersome practice, and dramatically accelerate and amplify the way participants make money — ideally, opening up brand new income streams to marketplace participants.

Revshop is a B2B purchasing and logistics platform that offers the enterprise print industry its first real-time pricing and purchasing marketplace. Mark Alioto is leveraging deep category expertise to transform the antiquated and surprisingly manual processes in the $900bn and growing market, job-matching buyers who spend over $1M/year with a supplier network of printers. The reduced friction, and unprecedented transparency, speed, and efficiency of the platform brings higher profits and value to both sides of the marketplace.

As an Ecuadorian immigrant, Karla Valdivieso has unique insight to the shopping and logistics behaviors and needs of LatAm residents, as well as immigrant communities in the U.S.. Her startup, Kargoo’s goal is to innovate cross border shipping and empower people to obtain anything in a more reliable, fast, and affordable way. They take the pain out of purchasing and shipping overseas products that are not offered locally by providing a safe platform connecting shoppers with the most in-demand products/vendors, and the verified travelers to deliver them in-market, all while abiding by customs regulations.

There’s also several opportunities in the crypto space that I’m really excited about, particularly companies that mainstream the ability to participate in a marketplace. We are still in early innings in terms of the societal influence that these enabling, “picks and shovel” tools will bring, and it’s invigorating.

Me: What advice do you have for other aspiring VCs out there?

Tina: Don’t feel like you have to mirror the same history as previously successful VCs to be valuable to the entrepreneurs you work with. Just be authentic to yourself, develop a reputation for being legitimately and humbly helpful to companies, and focus on the businesses you are deeply passionate about supporting. For example, I’m a bit of a social media introvert, but I have lived the turbulence of a founder and CEO multiple times, and will head-down grind and be effective for the people and businesses I invest in. So while I don’t fall into the category of having a loud bullhorn, I will hopefully always be the one my founders will call when they need candor and real assistance.

Me: What advice do you have for founders out there looking to raise?

Tina: Be honest, with others and yourself. As an entrepreneur, I know you need an endless well of optimism. But you can tout a vision while still being clear and straightforward about actual execution so everyone can get to the truths about what you need to do to be successful.

Me: Lastly, where can others connect with you?

Tina: You can contact me via LinkedIn or Kamanu Ventures. While I don’t post much, I lurk on Twitter @TF808.

--

--