A Daydream’s Point Of View

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature
1 min readMay 11, 2024
(photo taken by Giovanni Hanson)

I daydream days we spent together,
Some memories, some fantasy,
All pleasing, never waking,
For when I wake, the dream ends,
And the day turns to night.

I dream of flight,
I dream of wings where my arms should be,
Able to fly, far far away from here.

Here makes no sense,
There is no use for daydreams these days,
Tirelessly flapping my arms in a conscience sleep,
Rudely awakened by reality.

Reality, like gravity,
It forcefully asserts it’s dominance,
Ripping the wings from their sockets,
Falling to earth, but with new perspective.

You hit the ground hard, usually,
Life hits like a pane glass window,
Denying the daydreams path,
But do we give up? Did we ever?

We never did.

We accepted our new perspectives,
They gassed us up,
Fueled our new daydreams,
And we continued to search for life,
With a bird’s eye view,
With a Daydream’s point of view.

--

--

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature

Amateur adventurer and passionate poet. You can find my other thoughts, memes, and photography here: https://www.instagram.com/karmatunnel/