Burying Water

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature
1 min readJun 16, 2024
(picture used for prompt by Poetry Playground)

For this prompt I decided to use a memory of walking along Myrtle Beach in the Carolinas, with a soulmate I once knew.

Our feet sank in the wet sand,
As our hearts sank further into promises,
We know will not be kept.

We were not stupid,
We were just hopeful.

So many of life’s greatest memories,
Come accompanied by even greater risk,
Like a couple, walking on a dark beach at night.

A towel to blanket our backs,
The stars to blanket our eyes,
And hope to blanket our future.

It’s amazing how much hope you can have for the future,
With only seconds spent in the present.

As the waves crash on our feet,
And erase the footprints we made in this world,
I will keep this moment in my memory.

Burying Water, where crashing waves can’t reach.

Another poem I liked was the one titled Rabid Yonder by K.B. Silver

Read more great poetry at Poetry Playground:

--

--

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature

Amateur adventurer and passionate poet. You can find my other thoughts, memes, and photography here: https://www.instagram.com/karmatunnel/