Nothing, in Excess

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature
2 min readFeb 3, 2024
(photo by me)

There is no Freaky Friday,
Consumable art galore,
Be running up that stairway,
End up humbled to your core.

Corrupted cooperation,
Hypocrisy creates,
Introduction to seduction,
Easy life is hard to relate.

I can see the point of everything,
Except the point of myself,
We climb ladders not of our own choosing,
Learning magic to cast “calm spells.”

A single spark can destroy a forest,
That’s why I light fires in private,
Happy walls fall down and enrapture distress,
Which leaks out into the quiet.

I chose to climb the ladder of love,
Not knowing where it will lead,
Focused viewing what’s high up above,
While loved ones succumb to their greed.

You gave it all away for a nostalgic mouse,
The roots were bad from the start,
Your soul’s been abandoned filled up with doubt,
Since you packaged and sold out your heart,

A red cup of memories, a Pompeian shitstorm,
Relying on people to maintain,
Nobility, no felony, bad friendships to form,
Philosophy crushing my name.

The night always wins, the night comes in last,
Self vomit to get through the morning,
I can hardly recall my own hedonistic past,
Or rather, select the times of my choosing.

There’s approachable, then there’s won’t give me time,
That’s why Kenzie Reeves exists on a screen,
Another designed for an audience in mind,
That’s what I wish other’s had seen.

My dad was not strong enough, I am not strong enough,
No one is strong enough to take,
If you don’t know your purpose, one will assign one for you,
By a parent, a lover, or a roommate.

Bathe me in black light when I finally go,
Ego no longer being my arrest,
Dilemma no longer, for now I will know,
The power of nothing, in excess.

Dedicated to Bruce Wayne the cat (RIP 10/31/2022)

--

--

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature

Amateur adventurer and passionate poet. You can find my other thoughts, memes, and photography here: https://www.instagram.com/karmatunnel/