Origami Birds

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature
1 min readJun 1, 2024
(I like the irony, a free animal on a restrictive sign)

You fold me like origami,
With the patience of your fingers,
With the wrinkles of your palms.

Coincidence brought us together,
And for a time we had connection,
Between paper and creative minds.

I’m no stranger to coincidence,
Just another term for random serendipidence,
Feeling so feeble to be able to change.

Yet you change me,
Show me new shapes of freedom,
And artistic liberty.

You bend me in ways,
I do not believe are possible,
How many times proven wrong?

You save me from waiting for purpose,
Poisoned by the slow poison of complacency,
We choose to call comfort.

Between what I love and hate,
Watching the world go crazy around me,
While trying to maintain my peace,

You make me fly,
Fly far away,
By your own design.

Building others up to send them on their way,
You do this to everyone you tell me,
But I don’t care about everyone.

You do this to me every time,
Of course I’d miss you every time,
Of course I’ll forgive you every time.

Ready to be folded again,
When you regain interest,
In origami.

--

--

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature

Amateur adventurer and passionate poet. You can find my other thoughts, memes, and photography here: https://www.instagram.com/karmatunnel/