Perceived By Tomorrow

(Picture taken by myself one morning)

Spent my life attempting to not be perceived,
Pining on secret souls I deemed so worthy,
Never materializing despite best efforts,
Causing the fear to grow and consume.

So many things to say at the wrong time,
So little courage to show at the right,
Enjoy the seconds of entertainment,
As joyful smiles turn to nervous laughter.

Your glee shines like the East in my heart,
As I wrestle with my over stimulation,
My heart collapses along with yours,
Mascara waterfalls as evidence.

My heart so heavy and powerless,
To stop the bleeding for both,
Bonded by necessity and hardship,
Partnership of a kinship kind.

Sharing sorrows and struggles through storms,
Starving shame and solidarity through song,
Sacrificing safety to let a blind eye see,
As sunrise is perceived by tomorrow.

--

--

Like a Leaf Literature
Like a Leaf Literature

Amateur adventurer and passionate poet. You can find my other thoughts, memes, and photography here: https://www.instagram.com/karmatunnel/