When you are away, again…

Lina Q
Lina’s Page
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2021

https://twitter.com/LinaQ_Writer

You’re in my thoughts and dreams,

When I’m awake and asleep, however real and unreal it seems.

You don’t truly know or understand,

How much it kills me to know,

You won’t be here to comfort me from this Friday,

For an entire weekend,

Again…

Every time you tell me you’re going away for work,

I have to count from 1 to 10,

Just to not lose it,

Again…

Not having you here with me is tearing me up inside already,

I can’t stop thinking about you no matter how hard I try,

But I have to deal with you travelling so frequently.

You and work mean the whole world to me,

Unfortunately I can’t have either,

Not the way I would’ve wanted.

They say money can buy you anything,

Apparently it doesn’t buy me true love or health,

Anything else simply doesn’t interest me at all.

It hurts so bad,

But it feels so good sometimes too.

I have what others want, but don’t have,

Others have what I want, but couldn’t have,

Sometimes I wish I could just swap my life with someone else’s.

I wish this all makes sense,

I wish I could do something about it,

I wish it was so much easier,

Why does everything have to be so complicated?

When I was having dinner just now,

All I could think about was you,

Wishing you were here,

Wishing I could sit on your lap like I always do,

Wishing you could feed me with a spoon like you always do,

I don’t know if I can take all this pain and frustration,

And for how long…

Knowing that I’m here and you’re there, even after the travel ban is lifted possibly,

Thinking about the times we had, could have, and will not have…

Right now this distance between us is out of our control,

You’re my far away lover, virtual boyfriend, and imaginary best friend.

Yeah, we fought, loved, broken up, for 1000 times, but there’s something you just have to get.

I don’t want anyone else to have you,

Because you’re obviously mine.

When I close my eyes,

All I see is you, all I think of is you, and all I want is to kiss you and caress you for as long as you'll let me.

Well, I hope people at work who get to spend more time with you know what a treasure you are,

And enjoy your work vocation, my love!

--

--

Lina Q
Lina’s Page

Passionate about writing, Pushkin and Tagore are my favourite.