Lincoln W Daniel

Lincoln W Daniel
Lincoln W Daniel
Published in
5 min readSep 4, 2016

My passion is in building software to enable people to accomplish their goals more efficiently.

WHO IS LINCOLN W DANIEL

Full stack engineer. Designer. Author.
Building software to enable people.

Lincoln W Daniel is a full stack software engineer who puts a large focus on the goals of the user when designing software. Lincoln has worked at companies big and small. Receiving internship offers from companies like NASA JPL, he has worked at IBM and Medium.

During the summer after his Freshman year, to learn the LAMP stack, Lincoln developed a social marketplace for students like himself to buy and sell their belongings locally.

Lincoln spent his summer after sophomore year with IBM Watson developing a search framework from scratch. In that project, Lincoln’s main contribution was the ranking system.

The next summer, Lincoln spent his time working at Medium on new features for publications. During that internship, Lincoln also spent some time working with the Trust & Safety team and built a feature to eliminate spam in a certain area of the platform.

Along with engineering, Lincoln is an avid writer and enjoys designing. During his winter break of Junior year, Lincoln wrote a book, Java for Humans, to teach beginners the basics of Java in a more enjoyable and human relatable manner. Java for Humans is being read and leveraged by thousands of beginners across the country to get started with the most widely deployed language.

On the topic of writing, Lincoln runs the largest publication on Medium for articles on topics related to business marketing and growth hacking: Mark & Growth. Request to contribute through SuperMeditor. Along with running a publication of his own, Lincoln contributes to a couple more well known ones. Lincoln is a contributing writer for SitePoint.com, where he publishes technical articles and tutorials. Further, Lincoln is a featured writer for Wome2.com, where he published on the topic of entrepreneurship.

After all is said and done, Lincoln hopes to have developed software to enable people to accomplish their goals more efficiently.

Learn More & Connect

On Linkedin, Medium, Twitter, Facebook, Google, GitHub, LincolnWDaniel.com.

CORE SKILLS

Expert Researcher

As a software engineer, I must always be learning. The best way to learn is by asking the right questions and knowing how to find the right answers. I continue to master this art.

Self Taught

Following from my core ability to do expert research, I am largely self taught in software engineering. I have had wonderful teachers and mentors, but I pride myself on being able to pick up new skills on my own.

Empathetic Engineer

Engineers should be considered as the medium between the users and the tools that will enable them to best accomplish their goals. Thus, in order to best engineer those tools, I do my best to understand my users and their goals.

LANGUAGES

Java

I learned Java primarily in school as it is the main language at my university.

Concurrency, Networking, Data Structures, Databases, Web Backends, Android. Those are among the areas of study I’ve focused on in my Java experience.

I’ve also written a book, Java for Humans, to teach beginners the basics of Java in a more enjoyable and human relatable manner.

Javascript

I am self taught in full stack Javascript.

My first project, Tuurtle, was a social marketplace for students to buy and sell their belongings locally.

From there, I have gone on to develop more web apps and mobile apps with JS backends.

PHP

While I choose to not program in PHP any longer, I am still knowledgeable of it and can pick it back up at any time. It was one of the first languages I taught myself while building Tuurtle.

PLATFORMS

Android

I am a self taught Android developer. I have built many applications in Android including social networks, communication apps, and camera apps. Some of my Android apps were built specifically for Google Glass. One of my larger apps is inTouch, which helps users stay in touch with those who matter most to them.

IOS

I am least knowledgeable of iOS development, but in my short time contributing to a project or two, I have been able to adequately do my part. I continue to learn more as I practice.

Web

I have designed and developed many websites and web applications. Using plain HTML, CSS, JS as well as with Angular JS on top of the MEAN Stack. One of my favorite personal projects in this area is SuperMeditor.

Affiliations

Lincoln is not one to take opportunity for granted. He seizes and takes full advantage of every chance he is given to progress himself. Lincoln is a scholar of the National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering (NACME), where he is also the campus ambassador for his university. He is also a fellow of the Management Leadership for Tomorrow’s (MLT) Career Preparation class of 2016. Following the theme, Lincoln is a fellow of the Code2040, Code2040, class of 2016. He appreciates each and everyone of the se merit based opportunities he has been given to excel.

Lincoln W Daniel on Google Search

Yes, this matters.

Catching Abe for My Own Name

The picture to the left is a search for “Lincoln W Daniel” while the picture on the right is a search for the much simpler “Lincoln Daniel”. A year ago, Abe had me beat by a couple pages. Now, I am nearing the top of the first page and hope to be there by the end of 2017.

Thank you for reading. Please feel free to reach out and connect with me.

Learning to Program?

Start with Java. Starting with Java? Start with my book, Java for Humans and its accompanying code examples. It’s all free at the time of this writing.

Learn More & Connect

On Linkedin, Medium, Twitter, Facebook, Google, GitHub, LincolnWDaniel.com.

This is a living document.

--

--

Lincoln W Daniel
Lincoln W Daniel

Chief Bull @ BullAcademy.org ® Elevating writers @ ManyStories.com. Author @JavaForHumans Ex: Editor in Chief MarkGrowth (acq.), Engineer @Medium @GoPuff