About my goal set three weeks ago

fiona fei
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 29, 2017

“Freshman 15” means students who are in the first year of college are likely to gain 15 pounds in weight. Three weeks ago, I set myself a goal that was getting rid of “freshman 15”. Now, I think I’m on track to achieve my goal because of one straightforward evidence, I’ve lost my weight!

In the past three weeks, although I have lost my weight, I didn’t mean to do it. I think the main reasons for losing weights are that I have just gone abroad for study, so I need time to get used to it, and I try to form a healthy habit in the entirely new environment. As a freshman, everything in UCSB is new to me. I need to get familiar with the various teaching styles of professors, the new ways to communicate with native students, the locations of classrooms, and the timetables and routines of public transportations. I need to put efforts on all the things and then when I gradually get familiar with them, I need to prioritize what to do and plan for my college life. As I have a lot to work on, it is hard for me to get the weight at the beginning of the quarter. Of course, to control my weight, I also manage the ingestions. I seldom eat food with high calories, especially hamburgers and fried food, but eat more vegetables instead. Vegetables in campus are delicious, and I find myself love salad bars much more than before.

Speaking of what I plan to do to control my weight in the future, I want to choose a golf lesson for next quarter to improve my skills further. Also, I want to learn surfing as I believe it’s a waste not to play golf and learn surfing in UCSB, a school surrounded by sea with ample sunshine and desirable weather. Besides that, I plan to sleep earlier, as people who sleep late are easier to gain weights. According to a research awarded the Nobel prize recently, sleeping late not only can’t help people complete more tasks due to low efficiency, but also has adverse effects on works next day. The loss of sleeping late overweight the gain, and I have to make a wise choice. If there’s a heavy workload or if exams are coming, I will get up earlier instead of sleep late to avoiding both gaining weight and low efficiency.

--

--