Achieve your goal or not

ruiqi tao
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2017

Last time I set a goal for my college life, which is being self-controlled. The two means I point out, making short-run plans and doing things according to their importance, work well for me. Basically, I am on the track, but there is still space for me to improve.

To begin with, I am going to introduce how I put these two methods into effect. Firstly, I write down daily plan in a paper each morning, and I bring it with me for the whole day. Whenever I have down one task, I use a red pen to cross it out. In this way, every night before I fall asleep, I can have a look at which tasks I have completed today and which I do not. This makes me have an overview of that day and a clear self-awareness. Additionally, for which worthy to note is that I focus on the details when making plans. Instead of writing “Good behaviors in Math class”, I write “Answer the professor’s question once” and “Do not be late for the section at eight o’clock in the morning”. Those plans are more concrete and easy to achieve. Following by those daily plans, I am clear about what to do at all times, as a result, I will not waste my time on useless affairs. Moreover, at the begin of each week, I list out the things I have to do this week with their deadlines, and then reorder them on the basis of the importance level. As a consequence, I definitely know which to do first, the philosophy essay or the math review. I also add these tasks into my daily plan. Using this methods, I did not miss any due day in this month and everything is in good order.

For the most part, I work well with my plans. However, sometimes I got lazy, because there is no others putting eyes on me and no any punishment. Hence, I decide to ask my roommate Peter to help me. Actually, he ever talked to me that he thought my ways of making plans seems effective and he’d love to try too. I think we can encourage each other to complete the plans every day. Once I form the habit of making and doing plans everyday, I think I have became a person with strong self-control.

In brief, I am going to keep working on making daily plans and putting every affairs in order. They have helped me a lot. Furthermore, I need to work with Peter together to come over my laziness. In this way, I think I can do better and achieve my goal of being self-controlled.

--

--