After setting my goal

Jeremy Liu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2017

It is harder to keep relationship with American friends than to make friend with them. After 20 days when I set a goal, I already made some friends during my daily communication with others, but at the same time, I find some difficulties in process. It is hard to be a “Yes” person(say “Yes” to others while I was invited ),because I have to keep the balance between study and relaxing. When I accept their invitations, I have less time for study, which makes my grades decrease. What’s more, the way I plan to use does not work sometimes. Am I anxious for success? Maybe I should just enjoy those processes of making friends and do some changes.

Firstly, It is easy to find some topics with native speakers by watching TV show programs, but watching TV show programs could not help me to understand the culture deeply. It may result that I can’t feel the same as they do. One way to learn more about the native culture is to build strong relationships with American. When I get along with my American friends, I can celebrate some traditional festivals, such as Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and ask them about the origins of those festivals. Also, in the daily conversations, I can learn some folks I did not know before, and they are really happy to tell me. I have make some progress now, and to reach my goal, I still need to be more patient and do it step by step. Secondly, after I made some friends during discuss groups, it became harder to make some new friends, since people in the group are constant each quarter and I usually will stay in the same group until the quarter end. So if I only make friends in my discuss group, I can not make more friends out of the fixed circle. Then, after having some American friends, I asked them to introduce their friends to me, and we went hiking several times. Thirdly, when I learn deeper in my courses, I have to spend most of time on studying, thus I can not be a “ Yes” person all the time. I adjusted my allocation of time. In the past, I used to join a lot of events, so I don’t have enough time to study. But now, I can invite them to my study group, so we can make friends by discussing questions. I am good at mathematics, and I can give them hands while they have difficulties solving problems.

After 20 days I try to reach my goal, I do have some success. In the end of this quarter I had about 5 close friends and still try to make more friends.

--

--