Always follow the rules

Zhao Siqi (Maggie)
Linguistics 3B
Published in
1 min readOct 23, 2017

Leaving my hometown and flying to the U.S. marked the beginning of my new life which means I need to live here as an individual who has to care about my own behaviors. My mom will not be around and telling me what is right and what is wrong, I need to decide everything by myself.

One of the most important thing that I learned from my past 2-months experience is to always follow the rules consciously. I noticed that even if I walk pass the road with the red lights on, the drivers would still stop their car patiently waiting for me to arrive at the other side of the road safely, Even if I cut in line when checking out in markets, people standing after me wouldn’t say a word. However, these behaviors wouldn’t be done by the majority of people, it makes you feel embarrassing disrupting the social order, even if it was done so often when I was at home. Now, as an adult, I have to look after my own image, because my behavior not only represents myself, my parents, my family, it also represents my country.

As an old saying goes, “when in Rome, do as Romans do”. At present I am staying in th U.S, I need to follow what most people do here to ensure a happy and successful life.

--

--