America, my Good Teacher on Self-Confidence

Yangfan Zhou
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 25, 2017

I was not a good students in the past when I was at home. Last year, my first year in the U.S., I decided to change myself for doing good academically. Well, in a current point of view to look back to my first school year, the story I am going to tell may contains some bias, but I think I was inspired to change by things happened around me in the U.S..

When I was here for my first quarter, I was supper nervous and worried about my curriculum. I used to spend 12 hours a day from the morning to the late night for preparing my calculus class. I still remember when I went back home in the late night, I couldn’t sleep on my bed. I had to go CVS for purchasing melatonin to help me sleep.

All my nervous came from my lack of confidence on success in academic life. I did so because people always worrying doing something they never did well before. At that time, all the challenges come from the University make me fell myself to be worthless.

I still remember, Donald Trump and Hilary Clinton were fighting with each other to running for president. Almost everybody around me thought Donald Trump would fail. What shocked me is Donald was not like me to be sad all the time. In front of camera, he was always passionate and energetic. It feels like nothing can stop him from becoming president. I learned from him that there is alternative way to fight with the challenges in front of you.

Since my first time to watch his speech, I began to feel and understand a kind of American style optimism.” I am going to reach my goal even if nobody believes I can.” At that day he got elected, I felt like one day I will be succesed. After the Election Day, I went to an math exam and later on I knew that I got a really good performance on it which was 98/100.

I am going to success if I know I already putted my effort in it. I am not receiving something for free. In contrast, I am assigned what I performed.

--

--