Be Ready and Independent

Sam Xiao
Linguistics 3B
Published in
1 min readOct 23, 2017

Leaving a place you had stayed for almost 15 years is not something everybody want to experience about. I came to the U.S. when I was almost 15 years old, alone. No family, no friends, just all by myself. When you made the decision of exploring the world outside from just one small city at a young age, you had to know that you need to be independent and confident all the time.

I learned everything here, because no one can really help you to do things that everybody should do on one’s own. Got my driver’s license was one, learned how to involve into a different culture environment was another one, travelled through so many places over the world by myself was a huge one, etc.

You gotta be ready for it if you choose to do something better, I think that would be the biggest thing I learned after I came to the U.S. for all those time.

--

--