Continue to My Goal

yuqing wang
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2017

My goal for this quarter, like I proposed last time, is to get enough sleep. The way to measure if I have reached my goal is fairly simple. On weekdays, I get up at the same time every day, so the difference just lies on the time I go to bed. I have successfully finished all my homework before ten several times, and yes, I got enough sleep by those days.

Unlike what I always do on weekends, which is falling asleep at four in the morning and getting up at one afternoon, I achieve my goal by being an early bird. Of course, in weekends, I get enough sleep, but the whole schedule is messed up. I always find myself end up doing serious stuff not until four o’clock in the afternoon, and the whole day is wasted. More than that, I feel exhausted all the time. I have a hard time shifting back to normal schedule on Sunday night. I have to sleep because I have morning classes on Monday, but I can’t because my biological clock is somewhat used to the late schedule. Then I am drowsy the next day in the class. This is my body telling me that it is a poor lifestyle, and it is not healthy.

My issue is that I am able to try my best and go to sleep earlier than before by the endeavor of the past few weeks, but I am still failing to do the same on weekends. People like me become lazy on weekends. I don’t have classes to attend; I can procrastinate doing my homework until Sunday night. All these thoughts make to start that cycle. I sleep late because I can get up late, and I still get enough sleep. This is the part I want to fix in the rest of the quarter, because although lacking sleep is not the issue already, the time period for sleeping need to be adjusted since it is shifting back and forth. In addition, when you are still awake on three o’clock in the morning, you are probably feeling hunger as well, there is a big possibility for me to take some snack, which leads to gain weight. It seems like an unhealthy cycle if I continue to live in this habit.

I believe I have reached my goal, but a new issue arises, which is to make my schedule fixed. My roommate has really good habits regarding time management, and I plan to learn it from her. Hopefully I would overcome the challenges or at least improve a bit by the end of the quarter.

--

--