A Goal for First Quarter at UCSB

Yuchen Zheng
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2017

Starting a new chapter in my life at UCSB, I want to accomplish so many things in the following four years. As for the first quarter here, one specific goal I plan to achieve is to get involved in at least one organization. This can be applying for a job, joining a club or volunteering somewhere in the city.

The reason for setting this goal is that I consider myself an introvert who likes to be in a small group of people or to be alone doing my own things. Being in a new environment, I will easily close myself in the room and only focus on study. But I don’t want myself to settle down like that in college. Instead, I want to push myself out of my comfort zone and to have new experience and meet people.

I think this goal is important to me because I am living in the world that is dominated by extrovert ideal, according to a book I read over the summer, Quiet by Susan Cain, which in today’s society people are expected to be comfortable under public attention. It is not that I want to change my character because there is something wrong with an introvert personality. I just want to start getting used to the feelings of working with many people and adapt to the world that needs me to be more outgoing and social. In addition, getting involved on campus makes me feel I am part of the community and allows me to stay updated with the events happening in school. Also, starting to gain hands-on experience now and continuing doing it throughout the four years is very beneficial for my future career since along the way I not only build up my resume but also increase social skills.

To achieve my goal, I have been looking for jobs and attending different events since the first week I came here. Besides that, I am working on my resume and cover letter and learning to do well on interviews. I want to start with some simple jobs on campus such as working as a cashier at a store or a clerk at an office. But it would be better if I can find something that is relative to my major so that I can work in a setting that is similar to my future career to see if I truly like it. In the meantime, I am opened for all kinds of opportunities and willing to accept challenges. However, before I can achieve my goal, I have to adjust to the quarter system and keep track of my school work first.

--

--