Goal for my first quarter in UCSB

Yingfei Gao
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2017

University life has begun. It is my first time to study abroad and live far away from my home. I have numerous expectations for my university life and my current goal is to achieve a high GPA in my first quarter.

The reason why I set this goal is simple: As the saying goes, “it is the first step that costs”. I believe if I successfully achieve a high GPA in my first quarter, it would not be a huge challenge to maintain the study habit in my future university years. It is true that difficulties in academic level will boost as the years go by. However, it will not be a big deal if I follow the professor’s requirement, read the materials carefully, attend the office hours. Meanwhile, the second reason is that I want to push myself to get used to the environment faster, both academic and cultural. I consider a high GPA as a strong evidence to prove that I am familiar with the studying mode in the US, since it has huge difference between the mode of lectures in China and the US. In China, all professors will stand in front of the class, check attendance and then begin talking about the topic. The role for students is to listen carefully and take notes. However, in the US, all lectures are discussion-based. Students are required to participate in the class by asking questions, getting involved to the discussion.

With a high GPA, I can apply for my dream school for Master level study. Facing the abnormal fierce competition of application, a strong GPA grade can help me stand out from applicants. More importantly, the transcript can show my efforts of four-year-study in the University. One day after graduation, when I recall my university life, I will feel satisfy and comfort with my transcript. So, achieving a high GPA is more about the achievement of self-value.

In order to achieve a high GPA, I will attend every lecture and session and finish my homework on time. At the same time, I make daily plan to schedule my life in an effective and efficient way. With the help of a daily pan, I know clearly about what I need to do and what I should do in this day. I also have a notebook to mark the dates of every deadline and exam. In this way, I will never forget about the timeline of each assignment. More importantly, I go to the Recreation Center with my friends almost everyday, so that I can maintain a healthy lifestyle without becoming a “book worm”. Doing some exercise also helps me to refresh myself and sometimes I can get some new ideas after the exercise.

Achieving a high GPA is of great importance and I will work hard to make it real. I also have other goals, including making more friends, improving my oral and written English, keep my dorm clean and so on. If one day I achieve all my goals, my university life will be fulfilled.

--

--