GOALS FOR THE FIRST YEAR IN COLLEGE

Jessica Poon
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2017

It has been a little more than a week since I start my first class at UCSB. I was relaxed before the first day of school. However, the pressure soon fell upon me. I wasn’t sure about what classes I should take for the next quarter, how to study for college classes, or even how to manage time and take notes without losing my attention on professors. I was stressing when I noticed that I was the only one who couldn’t understand the class questions when the TA was expecting for the answers. However, I’m trying my hardest to adjust to a quarter system. My first goal would be having myself to settle down and focus on the school work more. By all means, I need to catch up on all the classes and learn how to manage my time as soon as possible to reach more and better goals.
When I first enter the university, I had heard a lot about the interesting clubs and organizations that I have never participate in when I was in high school. All of the fresh opportunities and activities of the organizations arouse my motivation for my first year as a college student. I had several interviews with different clubs, some accepted me and some rejections, but it did not stop me from trying in every interview.
I joined the CSSA (Chinese Student and Scholars Association) in literature and art department. Our department mainly focused on scheming official school-wide event. I joined this department because it had always been my curiousness on how to organize a large-scale event and making it happen gives me a sense of accomplishment. The second goal I have set for myself is that I will focus on my school work and, at the same time, participate and get involve in various college event to enrich my knowledge, social life, and make some memorable friends. I would like to get more involved with diverse communities and groups. I need to step out of my comfort zone and learn from every new friend. Also, I hope to discover new interests by trying different classes and clubs.

--

--