How Did I Do in Completing the Goals in College

Jessica Poon
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 29, 2017

It has been a month since the starting of my first year of college in UCSB. I have seen and learned a lot of interesting, new things. There were also struggles in the beginning of this new life for me. However, struggles did not stop me from seeking my goals and experience a better college life. Responding to my first medium entry journal, “Goals for the First Year of College,” my goals were learning to wisely use time management, keep myself on track of school works and at the same time, participate in school activities and clubs. This goal might seem basic, but it is not easy for many college students.

In the fast-paced quarterly college system, keeping on track with tons of readings and school works is the most important things to do. Throughout this month I have learned that finishing the assigned readings on time is the first thing you have to learn in college. Maybe there will be a time when you plan to study on that day but your friend called you to go to shopping with them, so you decided to push back the reading and study time one more day back, you are already behind. Then the next day, something might come up, and you persuade yourself that you can write one essay and read 5 chapters in one day to finish everything on a due date. At the end, you realize that this might not work out. This is why I’m learning to not procrastinate and I am seeing results. This is a kind of time management goal that I set for myself in the first week of school, and I am working on it to get a better outcome. I learned to read the chapters earlier and do my essay a couple of days before its due. I’m also looking forward to doing better in time management.

Another goal that I set for myself is to learn to participate in more activities in schools. Right now I’m in CSSA, Movie Club, and the clubs which are not mandatory in participating in meetings such as cooking, Yoga, and volunteering clubs. These clubs can keep me busy when I finished my school works. The clubs also helped me to relax and release pressure. Also joining these clubs is also a kind of motivation for me. For example, making films and videos is always my interest. By joining the movie clubs with every member who shared the same passion in movies like me, makes me energetic. Learning new techniques and communicate ideas with each other is delightful.

In the end of the month, I think that I am on the track of the goals that I set for myself in the first week of college. I am also looking forward to doing better in the future.

--

--