Learn to Manage Time

Nanty
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2017

It has been 1 month since I arrived at UCSB. Within this month, I have experienced a lot of things in this totally different world. There are all kinds of chances to know some new friends and get some skills in the clubs. And I also have to study in the library for the paper whose due date is the next day. This is a special experience, through which I exercises a wide range of abilities.

I think among all the abilities that I have learnt in this month, the most important is time management. In my high school life, I had a bad habit that I would like to delay matters until the last day before the deadline, which always made my life a mass. For example, I usually study the whole night before the deadline in order to hand my homework on time. And the next day, I have to finish another work at night. All these works weighted me down. So in the first day of college life, I have made my mind to be a good time manager. I list all of my plan in my notebook with the details and due date so that I will no longer forget or delay anyone. And every morning, I will check my notebook to make sure what I need to do this whole day. Besides, the most vital thing is that I change my thought of putting things off and turn to finish things ahead. Like, when the professor annouces an assignment. If the due date is Friday, I will try my best to finish it before Thursday so that I have at least one day to do some revise.By doing so, I find it is easy to keep up with professor’s steps and finish every homework in high quality. For all my 4 courses, although they are arranged so tight, I can handle most matters just after the class. So the time saved can be used to review knowledge getting from class. Moreover, I can hold a good and enough sleep time, rather than just 6 hours a day during my high school life. I am very energetic everyday. And for my spare time, instead of just sleeping, I will go out with my friends and do some exercise like playing basketball, which help me relax from busy study time and have a good mind to study.

I learn to manage my time efficiently so that make my life easier and happier. This can be seen as one of my important harvest during the first month when studying abroad. I think there will be more interesting and useful thing waiting for my exploration.

--

--