Moving in the right direction

Ershu Lu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 28, 2017

I think I am moving in the right direction to achieve my goals. I feel really happy because I was making a lot progress, which helps me adopt the new environment faster.

Not being a native speaker, I was not proficient in reading English at the very beginning. Therefore, as the quarter begins, I went to the library in school and checked out a book which was about Greek mythology. I read the book and take notes every day, which helped me a lot because this not only help me improve my reading speed but also learn much useful knowledge. I can save many time while doing my homework and can provide solid foundation for my future study because I was planning to take a class which teach Greek mythology.

As for me, I’m not an outgoing person, but I’m eager for making a large amount of friends. Thus, I apply for being a member of CSA because I thought in a Chinese organization, people might be friendlier. Fortunately, I was approved. In this organization, there were many activities that need to sell tickets. So I signed up for doing tabling in front of library and selling tickets. During doing tabling, I made friend with folks who was in the same shift with me and communicated with people who passed by and were interested in the activities. I really appreciate that because it helps me step out of my comfort zone. Also, when I encountered some problems and had difficulties in my homework, they always helped me solve problems. Nonetheless, I still need more effort because I make friends with Chinese students mostly, which means I didn’t communicate with Americans for many time. This is not a good sign. Although it is hard for us to make friends with Americans because of cultural differences, American are really nice and are willing to talk to us. In order to achieve that goal, I might attend some American’s clubs or parties and try to communicate with them. Making friends with American students can make us speaking in English fluently and know more about their culture.

Not like the first week in this university, now I am familiar with the classrooms and can find them easily. This is because I always spent time in school. For example, I usually reviewed the textbook and did homework in the library. When I’m tired, I will go out of the library and walk around the campus and saw many gorgeous sceneries. Walking around the campus not only relax me but also make me familiar with the building in UCSB.

Staying UCSB for more than two month, I feel that I start to fit in the new environment and gradually love this university. I’m happy because my effort in not in vain and I can see my progress.

--

--