My goal for this quarter

Xinwei Dong
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2017

To be honest, I read several blogs written by others before I start on writing my own blog. I realized that many people’s goals are getting settle down in this new place since they just got here for about 2 weeks. They met lots of problems like time changing and language difference. However, my goal is something different since I was here for FSSP this summer. The problems people met seem fine to me but I have something I want to achieve as well, which is to become a better person. I am not saying that I’m a bad girl but I want to enhance myself to a higher level both academically and physically.

First, I want to improve my reading and writing skills by reading more books and writing diary every day. “This is the easiest way to improve your writing skills” said by my favorite high school English teacher, Ms. De Leon who didn’t give me an “A” on my English III course but taught me plenty of things that is not learned at school by talking to me after class as a friend. She told me that writing diary every day won’t show any difference in the beginning but I would see my improvement later on if I continue doing this. In addition, although I was in a STEM major, it is still required for me to write essays whenever an analysis is taking place. I need writing skills to write my papers in order to get good grade and Ms. De Leon’s suggestion seems a good way to improve myself academically. Second, I want to work out often and get fit not only this quarter but later on too. Working out and getting fit is always considered good for people’s health. Even though studying hard is important, being healthy is essential too. A machine needs to be in a good condition in order to function well, which means that without a healthy body, people can hardly study well. Therefore, a combination of studying and working out is necessary for students in order to get better grade and a healthier body.

To conclude, I wish to improve myself by reading and writing every day as well as working out very often in order to get good grades and a fit body. I am aware that both activities require patience to see achievements. Therefore, I will try my best to keep on track and never stop becoming a better ME.

--

--