My Goals for the Fall Quarter

Hanwen Zhang
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2017

The first week of the fall quarter has already passed. Even though it was the first week, I feel that the study pressure is heavy. For this quarter, I have 7 classes and two of which are upper division math classes. Unlike other lower division math classes, these two math classes are considered the most difficult undergraduate math classes. And so it is, there is much more homework than before. Furthermore, these two math classes are very important and essential to me, because these two classes are highly related to my consequent math classes. One of my goals of the fall quarter is to fully understand the course material and get two A’s for these two math classes.

There is a math competition for college students called Putnam that I would like to take part in in the latter half of the quarter. I’ve prepared for Putnam since last summer and I hoped to do well in the competition this year.

Another goal I would like to accomplish is to clear a computer game called Dark Souls Ⅲ. I bought this game through steam last year. I tried to play this game but I could not even pass through the first boss at first. It was after more than twenty deaths that I found a way to defeat the first boss. However, since then, I have not got time to finish the game. I know it’s hard for me to spend hundreds of hours in this game with respect to my 7 classes, but I still hope that I could clear this game this quarter. After all, the game itself is extremely interesting and the storyline is also intriguing.

I would also like to learn how to skateboard in this quarter. I don’t have any way of transportation to class now. Even though it’s not too far away from Manzanita Village to buildings like Ucen, it still takes me 20 minutes to get to Phelps every Tuesday morning 8 am for my CS class. Skateboard is also very convenient that I can just take it to class without locking it to a biking rack.

--

--