New Goal, New Start

Yangfan Zhou
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2017

I am already fall behind, because this is my sophomore year here in UCSB. Everyday, since the quarter begins, I can feel the time slipping through my hands. My goal is explicit and clear, finish all Linguistic series class this year with a good grades.

Last year, I made my first goal in UCSB come ture, to be a college of Engineering student. However, there is a phase I sincerely believe in, “Freedom is not free”. My English writing level was relatively low when I got into this university. The writing department assigned me to take LING 3A based on the writing test result. Even more terrible, I had to sacrifice my writing class to make way for my Honor Chemistry classes. Thus, through my first year, I only finished LING 3A as my first writing class here. Unfortunately, there is no time for me to stop, because it is mandatory for me to finish all linguistic class in 2 years. To work through this, I made a time table that is finish LING3B in fall 2017, finish LING 3C in Winter 2018, finish LING 12 in Spring 2018, and at the end, done with this series by taking WRIT 2.

An engineering student can not become a qualified engineer without profound writing skills.My goal is not only to pass all the course, but also to get enough scores to fill up my GPA. Pass is not enough for me, learning more skills and developing my writing level is. With higher writing level, I can achieve more in my Chemical engineering class and Designing class etc. .

In order to achieve my goal, I will need to take all the course in my list and do what instructor recommend in the class, for example: Work all the paper with all my effort and knowledge, go CLAS frequently and finish all the home work with my best. Do what I do for chemistry last year for this year writing classes, I will make it happen. It is the ultimately the only choice for me to get through this year.

I know it is hard for me to go through this way for achieving my goal. There is already nothing easy for me to get rid of, like Winston Churchill said “one ought never to turn one’s back on a threatened danger and try to run away from it. If you do that, you will double the danger. But if you meet it promptly and without flinching, you will reduce the danger by half”. It is time to face the new challenge promptly.

All in all, let me make my college life great again.

--

--