Nanty
Linguistics 3B
Published in
3 min readOct 31, 2017

--

On the Track to My Goal

As mentioned in my first week’s Medium story, my goal for this quarter is to balance the time among study, social contact, and sleep, and I think I am on the right way to my ultimate goal. But there is still something that I should improve to make myself better and closer to my goal.

The reason why I am able to express that I am on the track to my goal is my time management ability. To achieve my goal, the most important method is to properly manage my time and work efficiently. I must finish my homework and review the today classes, and also should keep contacted with seniors in the clubs. Fortunately, I have successfully get the ability to manage my time. All the time, my life is fulfilled with all kinds of matters, but I can deal with everything in a good way. From 6pm-9pm everyday, I stay in the library to do homework. Thanks to the quiet environment, the homework from different classes can be handled efficiently. After that, I usually have 1 or 2 hours to do a review. On Monday, Wednesday and Friday, I am arranged 4 classes, so the time for review will be over 1 hour. But at the other time, I just have at most 2 classes, which means it is easy to review what professors have taught. By doing so, I finish my study work with high quality. Besides, I still have enough time from 9pm to 11pm for my project. I learn the C programming language for my project — Smart Lamp. getting into the IEEE club make it possible for me to take part in this project. The project is a little bit difficult for me, a freshman with poor programming base so that I should pay more attention to learning language to make sure I can understand every step of the project. Spending all 2 hours for the project, I am very tired and willing to go to bed. By efficiently study and work for project, I can keep a good lifestyle and have enough time for sleep. So I think I am on the track to my goal, balancing the time among study, social contact, and sleep.

However, I think if I want to achieve my goal perfectly, there is still something I need to do. First, I should improve the efficiency of comprehension in the lecture. If I can understand most of the lecture, I will review it more quickly. This can be achieved by practicing my oral English and listening ability to promote my comprehension ability. At the same time, learning more about the C language from seniors is also an ideal way to save my time. I often spend a lot of time figuring out a complex term in C language. Due to difficult terms, I can hardly finish my work until 12 pm. But if I ask seniors for help, they will explain it for me briefly and clearly because they are skilled in C language. Both these two methods can save my time and make my work more efficiently and help me achieve my goal.

--

--