one goal for this quarter

Jeremy Liu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2017

This is my second year in UCSB, which means I have more experience and plans than when I was in the first year. Quite differently, I am an international student studying abroad, and as a matter of fact, I do have a lot of goals in my list in the following quarter. In the last year, together with my friends in the high school, I visited a few famous cities of America such as Seattle, Columbus, Miami, Orlando, San Francisco and LA, and I build good relationships not only with my Chinese international students, but also the native American students, among whom mostly are from CA state, still some from others like NY, WA, etc. However, limited to the differences in languages and culture, I have only a few American friends, so the first and foremost goal in this quarter is to make 20 more American friends.

To reach my goal, considering for some time, I am willing to make some changes during my daily communication with others. Firstly, one way to find some topics with the native speakers is the TV show programs. while watching the TV programs, I have more opportunities to hear natives speaking, even though I was shy talking to others, the TV program avoiding the direct communications with others. What’s more, I am able to learn more about the native culture, more about what my classmates like to watch during their free time, thus building some topics with them. One of my favorite TV show is break bad. It tells a story about a chemical professor, who eventually become a drug trafficker, and I was deeply impressed by the clues and story itself. Secondly, everytime when I end up talking with classmates in a discussion group, I will ask them for a contacting way such as email or Facebook. It is difficult to ask for it at the first time, but when I do it, most people are happy to give theirs to me, which really encourages me to make that request. Last but not least, being a “Yes” person and hanging out with native speakers. I am supposed to say “Yes” every time they invite me, though I still need courage, but I think the first step overall is worthwhile. In addition, I can browse on the Internet to see if there is any activity held among students in school. Also, I can try to organize some activities by myself, inviting some people I have chatted with on Facebook before. Holding some trips is also a good idea. During our trip, we can talk about some TV show programs, study, life in university and next trip plans.

Actually I am not sure if I can reach my goal this quarter. But a bad bush is better than the open field. The quarter is started and time is running, and I will try my best to get closed to my goal for having a colorful campus life.

--

--