fiona fei
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2017

--

One goal I have for the first quarter in college

“Freshman 15”, which means students who are in the first year of college are likely to gain 15 pounds in weight, is every freshman’s nightmare. My mom told me that once her colleague went to an airport to meet her daughter who had just ended her first year in college, she couldn’t find her. Even if later her daughter stood before her eyes and said, ‘It’s me, mom!’, she still couldn’t believe her eyes, as her daughter gained much weight in the first year of college. I wondered how could the dramatics happen, but I was afraid of the ‘power’ of gaining weight to a higher degree. Therefore, my goal in the first quarter is to control my weight.

Obviously, one benefit to control weight is that people, especially girls, tend to be more attractive. It’s more easily for them to make friends in both genders as everyone loves beauty and fitness. It’s extraordinarily important for me freshman who has just entered a new environment and need to make new friends. Also, when girls who successfully control their weight communicate with others, they tend to have more confidence. It’s like that if one wear make-ups, she is pleased to meet friends in the streets and say ‘hello’ to them. Otherwise, she might think it’s better for them not to see her. More importantly, controlling weight can teach people how to process self-control in other cases. Precisely, they comprehend what they shall eat, and what they shouldn’t ingest a lot; and further, what they shall do, and what they shouldn’t spend much time on. Controlling weight encourages people to make wise choices, and enjoy a healthy and balanced life.

I want to get rid of “Freshman 15”. I plan to eat less food with high calories such as hamburgers and fried food. Also, I plan to go to gym regularly, not only for exercising, but also for making new friends who may mutually encourage to stay in fitness in the future. Developing a healthy habit is harder than maintaining the habit. I believe all things are difficult before they are easy. If I can do well in the first quarter, I’ll possess my health successfully in the future years.

--

--