Daniel Gao
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2017

--

Reflection on my first goal

It is been over a month since I set my first goal, so I think it is the right time for me now to reflect and review what has happened.

Like what I said at the beginning of the school quarter, I want to learn from the American culture, and combine my own culture and American culture in order to improve myself just like an old Chinese saying says, ” Take the essence and discard the dregs.” So now, a month later, I think I have been doing good, for most of the part. However, there are still some parts I must work harder on.

On my goal list, I said that I wanted to join at least two different dissimilar professional clubs for my first quarter. However, I only joined one club, which was snow-boarding club. One of the reasons why I only joined one club is because I am still trying to fit in to college life. I feel I am off track because I think I still need to learn how to management my time wisely. Being an American college student, at least for this quarter, I can have a ton of free time. Nevertheless, I spent much of my free time on going to LA, hanging out with friends in downtown Santa Barbara, watching TV shows at home and so on. Often, I do not even realize how many hours I am frittering away through those. Therefore, I don’t want to say, “I feel I waste a lot time doing trivial things” every time in the future. Hence, I need to learn how to manage my time in order to effectively compress, organize, and prioritize activities for maximum efficiency. I cannot forget my initial determination. I have to be on my goal-track.

However, I have been doing really well in the class called Education 20- Introduction to University which I listed it on my first goal list. For this class, we need to attend at least three experiential activities that focus on three different categories such as community development, relationship development and so on by the end of school quarter, in order to get involved with campus, make more friends, and know the meaning of university. For now, I have already done one activity that is called Food Bank. From this activity, I have harvested a lot. I even made few new American friends. I definitely need to keep doing this. I need to attend those meaningful events as many as possible. And I also need to meet more people and built strong relationships with others. I have to keep myself right on this track of goal until I achieve my goal.

This month I have experienced a lot. I need to start correcting what I have to change. Meanwhile, I need to keep doing what is on the right track. And I believe in the end, I will say “I know I can do it” to myself.

--

--