Taste of Home

Ziyi Liu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2017

Home is the warmest harbor for me. Going to a university that is 10,000 kilometers away from home definitely needs more courage. My home is the Chinese capital city Beijing, an international metropolis, where incorporate all kinds of food from all over China such as typical Cantonese-style snacks, Sichuan hotpot, Shanghai dumplings, etc. Nevertheless, my favorite is the hotpot that I eat it whenever the significant festival is upcoming.

Whenever the holidays are upcoming especially the Spring festival, my mom will always prepare hotpot for me, some hot-gas steaming from the middle of the pot which makes me feel very warm and putting all veggies and meat into the pot makes me satisfied. I covet to those cooked meat and vegetables and really enjoy this warm meal with my family. Homemade hotpot will put sufficient meat and dishes such as mushroom, cabbage, duck blood, frozen tofu and wide vermicelli, which are all carefully selected by my mom from the supermarket. All the meat put in the hotpot are lean meat. Homemade hotpot is always full of the taste of maternal love. Also, all the ingredient is the best. Every time when the whole family sitting together enjoy eating my favorite hotpot is the happiest thing for me.

Recall from the time I began my college life, almost a month and a half, the school’s food is better than I imagined. Not long after the start of school, my good friend Jessica and I went to eat a hotpot restaurant near the school, called Lucky dragon. When I first heard that there is a hotpot restaurant I decide to go for try with expectation but also relax myself a little, nonetheless the result disappointed me. When I first taste that hotpot the hotpot condiment is good, but compared to the one I usually eat at home is extremely incomparable. To more disappointed degree, the sesame paste is get stuck in my throat and I think that sauce is the raw sauce without no sufu and chives or even the salt, feeling like no flavor at all. Nevertheless, whenever for homemade hotpot it is perfect with all dishes and sauce preparation, with all tasteful ingredients like duck blood and frozen tofu, I really enjoy those dishes and meat even the garnishes. Although this restaurant provides the good condiment in the hotpot but the rest of things is still having so many differences from I expected. After finished eating, it is almost 10 o’clock in the evening. And I clearly remembered that I was trembling in the wind which is piercingly cold; however, I only wear the thin t-shirt and the short pant that day, I couldn’t stop sneezing and got a headache that day. At that time, just in that special scene, eating a meal with so little satisfaction and the horrible weather makes me miss the home over the Pacific Ocean, a 10,000 kilometers’ distances from where I am now. I am so missing my parents and also missing the taste of the food they cooked diligently with their full love. Going abroad to a university that is 10,000 kilometers away from home needs more courage, homesick about parents is a strong emotion but thinking about the goal of going abroad slowly calm down myself.

From that special experience, I have no specific homesick emotions, because college life is enjoyable, and fast-paced school life makes it difficult for me to have time feeling sad. From that time, I think I am gradually become more independent and grown with no homesickness and sadness.

Home will always be the warmest and most important harbor for me.

--

--