What Have I Done So Far?

Xinwei Dong
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2017

“Time flies as we go” said my grandma. She used to tell me this phrase and I did not quite believe her when I was young. Nevertheless, after a few weeks of my first quarter in University, I trust her that times does fly since I felt the school just started and yet the midterms are coming. Everything goes so fast that I felt I did not have time to accomplish what I urged to do. Therefore, I took a few seconds to think about what have I done so far and I came up with a good conclusion.

College life is new to me since I was “under control” for the past 18 years and everything is so exciting. There are variety of activities, clubs, organizations and I joined some of them that I was interested. The university also offers a lot of good services such as CLAS. I felt very confident on my first rough draft because I went to CLAS for help and I got a plenty of things fixed. By doing this, my writing skills also improved (at least I thought it was). My reading skills also improved due to several assigned readings from different professors. The downside of my goal is that I did not read by my self-interest but because they were assigned. However, I still have some achievement thanks to all of my professors as well as tutors in CLAS. On the other hand, I took jogging class in order to keep my “fit” body on track because I am aware that I would not be able to go to gym regularly, therefore, I took class instead so that I won’t skip anything. Although I don’t think I lost weight so far, I am in a better condition than I used to be physically and psychologically since every time after a 30 minutes jog, my body felt refreshed and I would have a better mood for the rest of the day. What’s more, although I did not list it in my goal last time, I finally got my driver’s license after several trainings from the coach. Although the midterms and schedule issue struggled me a little, I got a lot of things accomplished.

Even though there are some difference from the goal I made originally, the direction I am going to is correct that I am indeed trying to be a “better person”. I am curious about how the rest of the quarter would go and I would keep my goal in mind so as to get it done accurately. In addition, I would like to make some more goals to achieve since I’m quite enjoy the progress of getting things accomplished step by step.

--

--