Ershu Lu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
1 min readOct 23, 2017

--

What I learn when I stay in the US

As for me, it is the first time that I stay in the US for such a long time. I’ve gone to America for two times, but the purpose is to travel around and last about two weeks. Since the food is very different from Chinese’s food, I felt so novel and ate a lot of hamburgers and fries, which made me so delightful. However, when I come to UCSB to study, I had to eat those hamburgers and pasta every day, which means I had no chance to eat Chinese food. After two weeks, I felt so frustrated that I decided to cook Chinese food by myself. Therefore, I started to buy food from the Chinese supermarket and I searched the cookbook on the internet. However, I never cooked before, I did a bad job when I cooked food for the first time. As time went by, I tried to cook again and again. So I finally succeeded and could cook as well as my mother.

My cooking skill helps me a lot because I can eat familiar food in America. What’s more important is that I can make more friends because there are a lot of students who are from China and missing Chinese food too. Cooking now has been my hobby and I always cook in my spare time, which could help me release pressure when I have plenty of tests and homework to do.

--

--