What I Miss About China

Jessica Poon
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2017

Every summer I would go back to China to visit my family and friends. One reason is that this is the only period of time in the whole year that I could reunite with my family in China, but also because I miss the food in China and the convenient transportations. I cannot simply describe how large are the diversity and varieties of food in China. I felt thankful that I was born in China and have the opportunity to get introduced to those amazing foods.

I live in the north part of China, whereas the most popular and representative food is barbeque. It is a lot different than the American BBQ since serves in the much smaller portion of every dish. Unlike a large piece of grilled steak or a bowl of grilled vegetables, northern Chinese style of barbeque serves around 5 small pieces beef or lamb on a stick. Most of the vegetables are served on sticks and also seafood. People usually order 30 sticks and pickled vegetables. Also, the special Chinese seasoning gives the Chinese barbeque its unique taste. Of Course, there is more amazing food in China that I cannot describe at once. There are many cuisines in China that represent different locations, such as spicy hot pot represents Sichuan, Peking roasted duck represents Beijing. If you ever travel around China there are always a couple of representative dishes that you have to try in every province or some that represent the city.

Another thing that I miss about China is the convenient transportations. In China, convenient stores in cities are everywhere. Every one of them is close to each other within one or two blocks away. All of them carries the lowest price like in the supermarket. Some also carry fruit. This sometimes makes it unnecessary to go to grocery stores. For example, my grandma would buy fruit, vegetables, seafood and other daily supplies just outside of her apartment. It also could also form a close relationship between neighbors.

--

--