What I Miss About Home

ruiqi tao
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2017

It has been three months since I came to America. That is my first time leaving my family to live in a totally unfamiliar city. Although I have made a lot of friends and live happily here, I always miss my family members and finally understand that nobody can take their places in my heart. Thus, what I miss most is my family.

Every week, I use Facetime with my family. In this way, I can see their faces and hear their sounds. They always tell me to take care of myself and do not be worried about them. However, every time after I finish the calling, I feel extremely missing them. I can still remember when I was in my high school, everyday after I came back from the school, my mother had made a abundant meal for me. And my father would stop all the businesses in his hand and asked me about my school day. Sometimes I was impatient when talking to him because I wanted to play video games. Now, every night I go back to my dorm room from classes. I really miss my father. I want to talk to him about the interesting things I meet today, but what I can see is only the empty room. Also, I have a lovely nephew. I like him and he likes me, too. Whenever my sister told him that I am going to arrive home, he would sit near the door and wait for me. After I opened the door, he would gave me a big hug and his big smile in his face was really charming and attractive. Every time I go to the downtown in Santa Barbara with my friends, when I saw candies or toys for children, I really want to buy them for my nephew. I miss his beautiful smile because it always gives me energy and makes me throw away all of my unhappiness.

When I was at home, I did not realize every warm moment my family members give me. Sometimes I would argue with them and I think I can be an independent person without their control. However, now I know how they cares about me and I really miss them.

--

--