What I miss about home

fiona fei
Linguistics 3B
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2017

Been in US for two months, I miss food in my hometown Shanghai, China.

I miss Red braised pork belly in a rural tourism. During one weekend, my parents asked me if I want to go to a rural tourism to have a dinner. I wasn’t pleased to go at first as I said, “Why do we need to take an extra hour to drive to the rural tourism and then take another hour to drive back? It’s only a dinner!” However, my father responded, “Take a relax!” Then, we drove there, and I finally got to know why my parent wanted to bring me there. Each course was in a large dish, and they were so delicious, especially for one dish Red braised pork belly. Both my parents and I ate more than five large pieces, forgetting all about gaining weights. At last, we had a hard time walking as we were too full but gained the common happiness from meat and from our family. After that, there’s often a sound in my home, “Let’s go to the rural tourism this weekend!”.

I miss Roast Whole Lamb in a Mongolian yurt. My primary school classmates and I sponsored a volunteering club, which aimed to help students in primary schools in Inner Mongolia to build libraries and enjoy basic school supplies. Our primary school teachers and we have also been to Inner Mongolia to give the students a few classes. Roast whole lamb is a famous dish in Inner Mongolia. After coming back to Shanghai, we went to a Mongolian-yurt-theme restaurant together, ordering the dish, to celebrate the success of the trip and our friendships and relationships with the teachers. The roast whole lamb was sweet to me.

I miss Tea egg in a Sunday school. Born in a Christian family, I was grown up in a Sunday School, a “school” for children in Hui Zhong Church. I have been to there on Sundays for more than 15 years. From a baby crying to a little teacher accompanying with the piano and teaching lessons, the Sunday school witnesses my growth. This summer, as I’m going to study abroad in US, a teacher in Sunday school used four hours to cook tea eggs for me as she knew that I liked her tea eggs most.

I also miss Oil eel paste in restaurants. I can often see the dish on the table as my relatives know I like it.

I miss the food in China, and I miss people there.

--

--