What I miss about home

Xinwei Dong
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 13, 2017

When I graduated from high school in florida and got ready to go to UCSB, I was excited because I am going to california, where gathers thousands of Chinese people which means there are lots of places that have good Chinese food. This is so attractive to me since I miss Chinese food very much, yet florida does not have any good chinese restaurant due to the lack of Chinese population. Nevertheless, I am not happier than I was in florida even though there are several good asian restaurants in Santa Barbara, and I can go to Los Angeles for more good food.

Every time when I hang out with my friends having asian food, I would think about my grandma and the dishes she made. Her dishes do not have good looks, but they have the BEST taste. They are the taste of kinship, the taste of family, and the taste of love. Although I was raised by my grandparents and I eat my grandma’s cooking everyday, I would never get sick of her dishes while I would no longer visit a restaurant if I went there several times already. I always believe that my grandma has magic that makes her cooking so well despite of a limited selection of food that she knows how to cook compared to the restaurants where offer a variety of food and may change menu seasonally. I used to make fun of my grandma that her dishes look “disgusting” (and I meant it), yet she kept cooking, and I kept eating.

My grandma used to teach me how to cook too because she believes that cooking is a skill that a person needs to learn in order to live. I was not a good student but I still learned some. Right now, during my free time, I would cook small dishes since I live off campus and I did not get a meal plan. The memory of the first time I touched kitchenware here in Santa Barbara was crystal clear because I almost felt that my grandma was right next to me. During that day, I inivited my neighbor to come because he helped settled down. I made some small dishes and they taste just like my grandma’s cooking. I was proud of myself, yet I know I still got a lot to learn because my grandma would not be with me forever, so does her dishes.

Although I miss my grandma’s dishes so much, I am working hard on getting used to the college life and forcing myself try new things, and I believe I am on the right track now and later.

--

--