What I miss about home

Yucheng Huang
Linguistics 3B
Published in
3 min readNov 12, 2017

After staying in America for one month, many aspects of life are totally different from China. The food they eat, the game they play, the environment they live in, and the people here. All of these are unfamiliar for me, so I truly miss my home sometimes.

First thing is the food here. In the dining commons, we have vegetables and fruits, tacos and pizza, and burgers and french fries everyday. If I can eat hamburgers once a month, that would be brilliant for me, but it is a kind of suffering for eating these things all the time. At home, my grandmother used to cook meals for me, and her dishes are very attractive to me at this circumstances. In China, we eat rice for every meal, and the vegetables are cooked together to make a dish. The sauce we use in one dishes is very complex. For me, I have a hard favor for food, so I like spicy and sour or salty dishes. What I really miss is hot pot! All the meat and vegetables are well-prepared in plates and then we put them into a hot pot with different flavour. After the meat and vegetables are done, we can see the color of food is changing. Then we dip them in the specific sauce and eat them. That’s really spicy, but I love that!

After talking about the foods, what I really miss is my family. I am very worried about my grandmother because she is almost 90 years old, and she brought me up. Now, my grandmother is very dangerous at that age, that’s why I am worrying about her and I hope my grandmother will be fine all the time and never sick. My father and my mother used to have a video chat with me so I can see them on the screen sometimes, but I still miss them because after I have gone to the U.S., my father’s manner change a lot. He used to shout at me and never care about what happened on me when I was in China, but now I can feel that my father care me a lot. He always asked me about my situation here and started a video chat with me. Same as my mother, every time when she buy something new at home, she would tell me and introduce that thing for me. In the past, I was very hesitate to listen to my mother about telling me these things, but right now, she can only types to me. I become very patient and reply to her for every words. I also asked my mother a lot about my 3-year-old sister. She is so cute and I remember that every morning I got up very late, she always waked me up. Now I can only see her once a year, so every time I see her, she will make a big change. I want to stay with her, but I need to study abroad. I really miss my family and I hope everything will be fine on them.

Although I miss my home, I still need to work hard in the university so that I can graduate early to come back to China. Be responsible for myself and for every one that care about me.

--

--