What I Miss About Home

Annabelle Zhang
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2017

I’m so excited that there is only one month left to go back home! I miss my home, delicious foods in Beijing, and my mom, dad and grandma. I have never leave my home for such long time before. Although my parents and I do FaceTime three times a week, I still miss the sweet feeling of home. Therefore, the thing that I miss the most is my family.

The relationship between my family members are improving as I grow up. We love and care about each other so much. For example, I was so worried before I come aboard to study in America that I ate little and did not talk much. My grandma always came and chatted with me about the experience of the time she went to college. I felt a lot better after the conversation. Furthermore, my parents always take me travel by car. We had been to loads of places in China, such as, Qinghai, Shandong, Ningxia province, etc. The beautiful sightseeing that we had seen that I will never forget.

I also missed so much about he food they cooked for me. Before I leave the home, my dad cooked more often than he used to do. Because he said that in this way I can remember the taste of home. I believe my dad is the best chief in the world! I miss the taste of the eggplant with minced pork, stewed pork with brown sauce, and Chinese sauerkraut fish, etc. I have already made I list of what I’m going to eat when I came back to China. Moreover, my family is a combination of north and south in China that my dad is from Beijing, while My mom and grandma is from Sichuan. Hence, I can have both spicy food and traditional Beijing food on the table. Take Spring Festival for instance, we will have both hotpot and dumplings at the New Year Eve. My family will seat on the sofa, eat the big meal, and watch Spring Festival Gala Evening together. I can also get lucky money from my grandma.

My family is just always behind me and support me. I can’t wait to go back home when writing this story!

--

--