What I Miss About Home

Yangfan Zhou
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2017

Every time, when I ride my bike on the ocean side road, I turn my head toward the ocean and tell my self: “On that side of the ocean is my home.” I keep miss my home sometimes, but most of time I don’t know what I am missing about? Food? Family? My city? 7–11? Or simply the shower at my home bathroom? After a night, I made a profound thinking I have the ansnwer, what I miss is the daily routine when I was at home.

When I was in senior school, the school usually start at 7:15. To make sure arrive on time, normally we get up at 6:30 and leave home before 6:00. I didn’t comply anything about the time schedule that time. However, here in UCSB, depite the fact that all my class start after 8:00 AM, I somehow late for my first class. Even worse, I can not sleep early because I wake late and haven’t been “tired” enough to sleep. This makes me spend more time at night to deal with home works. All in all, this is a horrible cycle as I spend more and more day time on sleeping and use night time for work. Because I wake up just before lecture every morning, I hardly have chance for having breakfast and that lead to another problem: My stomach feel really uncomfortable. That is mainly caused by my eating behavior. I eat nothing in the morning and eat everything in for lunch!

I miss the fresh morning back home. At home, I can spontaneously wake up at 6:00. I miss the feeling of fulling up stomach in the morning. But….I am too tired to have all of these here.

Home is on that side of ocean, and I can not be there now. What should I do? I hope I can stop myself for sleep late and be in bed early for the incoming fresh morning. If I can achieve this, I will no longer fell homesick.

I hope for me one day, I can wake up before the sun rise and go to the goleta beache park to re-fell the sense of home: A fresh and enjoyable morning.

--

--