Ershu Lu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2017

--

What I miss about home

As an international student, this is the first time that I study abroad and away from home for such a long time. What I miss the most is obviously my family who raised me and cared for me. I really love my family and I always stay with them. Even when I went to another province for high school in order to get a better education to prepare myself for university in the United States, I usually still go back home every month. Nonetheless, now I can only go back to China every year, which is a big challenge for me. What’s worse, there is a time difference between China and America. Sometimes, when I wanted to share something interesting to my parents, they were sleeping. Also, when sometimes they had time to video chat with me, I need to go to class or do my homework. Therefore, our interaction is limited by the distance.

I miss my family because they always care about me and when I am sad, they will talk to me and make me happy. When I was in middle school, I didn’t do a good job on the midterm exam. I was really disappointed and I didn’t know what to do to improve. So I seek help from my parents. They told me don’t be sad and it is just a little test in my life. After that, they bought me some reference books and find a tutor for me. They supervised me to watch that book every day and gave me some quizzes after I read few chapters. When I stayed up late because of studying, my parents will cook something delicious for me, which encourage a lot both physically and mentally. After I read all those books, I felt I got a big progress and I got a good grade on the final exam.

What I miss is not only my parents but also the relatives. My family is different from others because all the relatives live in one building. Thus, we always eat together and have some activities, like playing table tennis, going for a walk. I really miss this feeling because the ambiance is so warm and sweet. When I have some trouble, the relatives are very willing to help. For instance, one time my father bought a big refrigerator. However, it was so big that my father could not move it to my house. When my uncles saw it, they helped my father immediately. I was touched because individuals help each other.

--

--