Elia Xu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2017

--

What I Miss About Home

Time flies, and I’ve been studying in UCSB for two months. For most international students, it’s inevitable that sometimes we just suddenly miss home. What I miss most about home is my grandma’s cooking.

I was raised by my grandma until I went to Middle school. Despite that she has never been to a professional cooking school, she is really good at cooking . Once our family ate out to celebrate a festival, I told my grandma I like the taste of a dish and after a week she just cooked the same for me which tasted even better than in restaurant. I’m so surprised and curious at how can she tell all the food materials and the spices by just tasting once. I still remember when I was in elementary school, my friends always asked me to take them home for dinner on Fridays. It is my grandma that has a great reputation for cooking among my friends.

However, before I left home I didn’t realize my grandma’s cooking was so precious. Living off campus without meal plan makes me skip meals frequently. Most time I just get food close to me, so fast and unhealthy foods are common in my life now. Most food in IV and on campus are expensive especially Asian foods and they taste more like “American Asian” food. Weeks ago, when we discussed about healthy food in class, I realized that I was tired of unhealthy foods and I had to buy fresh food and cook by myself. After I tried a few times, I found I hated wash dishes and I had no idea about how to balance the nutrition. I can’t imagine my grandma spent so much time on cooking and doing cleaning for such a long time without a complaint.

Missing my grandma’s cook makes me feel I didn’t focus on my family that much before. I spent most free time hanging out with friends and didn’t gather with family members. I still remember what happened on my 18-year-old birthday. On that day, I totally ignored my family, and when I got home from hanging out with friends only to find there were many dishes left on the table. My family concerned on me so much but I put all attention to friends. I tried to get cognition from others, ignoring it is my family that supports me all the time.

I’m going home this winter break. I really want to tell my grandma face to face that I’m so appreciate for her contributing so much.

--

--