What I Miss About Home

Yihan Lyu
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2017

Talking about the concept of home, the first scene coming to my mind is my family. I miss my mother so much. I miss her voice, her face, her hair and her smell, the unique scent of my mother; I miss the noodles she used to cook for me; I miss the dumplings she cooked which are especially delicious because both the stuffing and the skin for dumplings were made by herself; I miss the breakfast of love she made for me, which is always a big breakfast, with eggs, fruits, milk, and other special types that I never tasted anywhere before. I miss the warm family memory that we lie on the sofa and watch TV shows together; I miss the time we spend the whole morning on making butter almond cookies… I miss her so bad.

The most excited thing for me is that I can go back home after a month because of the winter break. I have already imaged the picture that my mother is waiting me outside the airport for thousands of times. And I cannot believe time goes so fast that I have been in the US for nearly two months. Everything seems begin to on track, but I still feel homesick sometimes. When I wake up every morning, I cannot hear the familiar voice that my mother is cooking in the kitchen. Not need to say the big breakfast she prepared for me. Breakfast time is very cherished for my mother and me because it is the only meal we can eat together in a day. Her working place is very far from home and she has to work late, so there is no chance we can eat lunch and dinner together. I miss one of her specialty dishes the best — Chinese vegetable pancake. I use the work “Chinese” because this pancake is different from the pancake I taste in America. Usually, the American pancake is made by flour and fruity filling, but Chinese pancake is consisted of meat, vegetables, and various condiment. In China, everyone makes different pancakes because people have different eating habits. There are some typical types: eggs pancake, vegetable pancake, sweet sesame pancake and spiced salt pancake. If my foreign friends ask me to recommend some Chinese food, I will suggest those pancakes with no doubt. Although those pancakes are good, I still love the one my mother made best. It has every simple filling, usually some carrots, cabbages, cucumbers, eggs and flours, but it tastes better for that it has a taste of mother. I am looking forward to tasting my mother’s pancake after a month. I cannot wait any more!

--

--