What I Miss About Home

Nanty
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 14, 2017

I have been Santa Barbara for two months and I usually miss the life when I was in my hometown, Taiyuan. Something I do in Santa Barbara reminds me of the same one I do in Taiyuan. For example, when I ride to college, in the way, I will recall the time when I rode my bicycle from home to my high school. During that 3 years, I have memorized every part of the road to my high school. Besides, when eating dumplings that I buy from costco, I will miss the dumplings that my Mom cooked for me. It is very delicious. But. if you ask me what I miss the most, it is my family.

I really miss my Mom. She is an excellent cook and I enjoy the food from her kitchen very much. Yesterday, she cooked one of my favourite food,Shredded Pork with Garlic Sauce, and took a photo to me, which made me very excited and deepened my miss for her. Besides, for the first several days that I arrived at my apartment, I was even not adapted to the life without my Mom. Every time in China when I get up, I always go to my Mom’s bedroom to kiss her. However, in US, it is totally hard to kiss her. I can just get connected with my Mom through the website. I can see her face but can not give her a hug, which makes me totally sad. And in China, at weekend, I would like to drive with my Mom to go shopping and watch a movie. Since I get here, at weekend I can only take the bus to Santa Barbara downtown for fun. And it is not very happy without my Mom.

At the same time, I also miss my Dad because he can help me handle a lot of things when I feel struggled in China. During my high school time, if I have some trouble on study or with friends, I would like to ask my Dad for help. He will listen to me patiently and give some suggestions that very useful to deal with my problems. However, in UCSB, due to the jet lag, I have a little bit of time to communicate with him. I must handle everything with myself. Although it is an ideal chance to exercise my ability, I still miss him very much.

In a word, I miss my parents very much. My Mom, a very nice woman, takes care of my life. My Dad, a very clever man, helps me deal with every problems and makes me confident. With them, I can do like a child and be very happy everyday. Far away from them, I must do as an adult and control my life so that they will rest their heart.

--

--