What I miss from home

Yingfei Gao
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 10, 2017

“Take care my babe! Be safe, we will miss you!” This scene of standing in front of the security check gate, and waving to my parents at the airport always remind me about the day I leave home.

I have left home for around two months right now. Even though the college life is fulfilled with strong academic atmosphere and colorful activities, and the friends here are also nice and warm-hearted, I still miss my sweet home a lot.

My grandparents took care of me when I was young, as my parents were busy at that time. Even when I was at high school years, I would go to grandparents’ home and eat with them and chat as well. Therefore, the relationship between my grandparents and my parents and me is really close. I have never been far from home for more than one month, and this time is a challenge for my family.

Before I leave Beijing, we made a deal that we will have video call every day at their 12:30. Although I have lots of assignments and readings, I keep our deal well that we made video call every day. At the first several days, they asked me about my dorm, my roommates, my daily life of preparing for the new start in an absolutely new place. Right now, my life is more “routine”: take lectures, study at the dorm or library, go exercise at recreation center. The conversation between us changed from the pattern of I am answering questions to the pattern of I am asking them questions about how’s their day, what are they planning to do in the weekend, how’s my grandparents and so on. During weekends, I will share some photos with them and tell them about my weekends. My grandparents are old so that they cannot use the video call app very well, but they still try hard on learning it. Even though they seldom talk to me via video call, they are still online and my grandpa said he feels happy when he saw my smile, and that is enough for him.

By having a video call everyday, the physical distance is limited. I can see my parents and grandparents; I can hear them; and I can feel their care and love. Moreover, they can also know my life visually so that they would not worry about me that much. I am fortunate that the technology shortens the distance between my family and me so that we can still feel free to chat and see each other. However, I still miss them so much that I am looking forward to fly back during the winter break and reunion with them.

--

--