What I Miss Most About Home

Zhao Siqi (Maggie)
Linguistics 3B
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2017

November 11th, which is also called “double eleven”, is a very special day for Chinese people at this time when technology and Internet is developing. Literally, it’s a special day for single people who don’t have a boyfriend or girlfriend, but nowadays it has became a important day for big e-commerce websites to promote goods. They usually have different types of discounts to attract more customers.

When I was back in China, I always buy a lot of things online on November 11th. But now, since I am in the U.S, I can’t buy them anymore. In order not to disappoint me and release my homesickness, my mom decided to buy things for me and mail it to the U.S. This made me happy. I listed the things that I want and found suprisedly that all of them were food.

I miss my mom’s dishes. I miss the restaurants besides my high school. I miss the snacks I usually eat after class when I was in high school. And these things are too hard for me to reach now. They taste either too different or costs too much in California.

My hometown Luoyang is a small city in the central part of China. People in my hometown like to eat noodles and water dishes(which is a collection of different kind of soups). Even there are a few Chinese restaurants here in Isla Vista and Santa Barbara, they taste too different from what I like to eat at home.

There are still a few months before summer break, which means I can go back home 7 months later. In order to release homesickness, I decided to cook for myself. Even though I can’t cook so well, I can practice. That’s the reason why I asked my mom to buy some seasonings that she usually use while cooking back in China.

I will definitely try to learn from the recipes as well as asking my mom about some tips. This would not only help me taste a little bit of my hometown, but will also help me live independently. I can’t always rely on my mom. I need to support my own living with the start of cooking for myself.

--

--