Adapting International College Life

Vanessa Song
Linguistics 3C Blog
3 min readMay 31, 2017

I can’t agree more with Andini Alya’s suggestions and opinions on living aboard, but as an international students, I really failed to be so energic and optimistic about my future in UCSB because loneliness and several big events hurts me badly. Also, I felt that it was so hard to make real friends here since everyone had different classes and entered various classrooms. Compared with my study life in China, I had fixed classmates for several years, which means I would be finally familiar with everyone easily and I didn’t have to make friends on purpose. Therefore, lonely was my biggest feeling in the last two quarters. However, I began to realize that I just can’t wait for other peole to fulfill my life, instead I need to find anything interesting by myself and take it easy when I try to get along with other people. Abroad life is the time for me to become mature.

In order to have a full and appropriate schedule, I adjusted my units from usually 12 to 16 points. More importantly, I checked my gauchospace and email very often to make sure that I won’t miss any assignment and due. It is very important to estimate the time that every assignment will take, and arrange them into my schedule. It’s better to complete the assignments as early as possible, because if I begin my assignments in the last minute, I will be in hurry, which means that I will finish my assignments in a very low quality or I will even pass the due time.

Besides my study life has become much richer, I also started to learn the way to make new friends. For example, sometimes I have a very quick conversation with someone, and I find out that we have a same class. Next time when I see her, I will invite her to sit together, and ask her that if she wants to discuss and finish homework with me in the library. After such connections, we become good friends who will share the stories and experiences with each other. Although UCSB is kind of a boring place, students can spend 20 minutes to Santa Barbara downtown or a hour and half to get LA and have a great weekend there.

According to what I have experienced, I strongly recommend UCSB as a great choice for new students, since UCSB has so many kind students and professors, high-level academic accomplishment and relaxed life. As soon as you get used to the new lifestyle in America and college, you will begin an unforgettable journey in UCSB.

--

--